Faculty & Staff

The faculty and staff of BTSR hold degrees from educational institutions around the globe and demonstrate a lifelong commitment of service and ministry to and with local congregations.


Biblical Studies

Mark E. Biddle
Russell T. Cherry Professor of Old Testament

F. Scott Spencer
Professor of New Testament and Biblical Interpretation

Historical/Theological Studies

Thomas H. Graves
President, Emeritus and Professor of Philosophy of Religion

Elizabeth Newman
Eula Mae and John Baugh Professor of Theology and Ethics
Director, Master of Theological Studies program

Caleb O. Oladipo
Duke K. McCall Professor of Christian Mission and World Christianity

Ministry Studies

Daniel G. Bagby
Theodore F. Adams Professor Emeritus of Pastoral Care

Tracy L. Hartman
Daniel O. Aleshire Professor of Homiletics and Practical Theology
Director, Supervised Ministry Program
Director, St. John’s Bible Project


Arthur M. Wright, Jr.
Affiliate Professor of Spirituality and New Testament


Office of the President

Ronald Crawford
President, Professor of Pastoral Ministry

Office of the Dean

Tim Gilbert
Vice President for Academic Affairs and Dean

Beverly Vandevender
Assistant to the Dean

Susan Blanchard
Registrar and Director of Financial Aid

Penny Jenkins
Supervised Ministry Program Assistant

Office of Institutional Advancement

Lacy Kendrick
Communications Manager

Julie Walton
Associate for Development

Sara Hubble

Office of Admissions and Recruitment

Melissa Fallen
Director of Admissions & Recruitment

Judith Myers
Admissions Associate

 Office of Business Affairs

James F. Peak, Jr.
Director of Business Affairs and Facilities

George Chandithuruthel
Accounting Manager

Information Technology
Eryn Van Lear
Director of Information Technology

Eric Fulcher
Maintenance Coordinator

Student Services
Ivy Haga
Student Accounting and Housing Manager



Susan Blanchard, Supervised Ministry
Stephen C. Booth, Christian Education Formation
Stephen Brachlow, Spirituality and Church History
Eugenia Freiburger, Christian Education Formation
Samuel P. Harrell, Practical Mission & MIE Field Coordinator, Kenya
Dan Koger, Christian Education Formation
Steve Law, Church Management
Rusty Lee, Technology
Deborah C. Loftis, Church Music and Worship
Narola McFayden, Research Methodology, D.Min.
Elizabeth A. Pugh Mills, Supervised Ministry, Practical Theology
James Peak, Jr., Church Management, Worship, Chapel Choir Director
Greg Randall, Youth Ministry
Dr. B.V.R. Rao, MIE Field Coordinator, India
Cindy Ring Ruble, MIE Field Coordinator, Malaysia
Barbara Robbins, Justice and Peacebuilding
J. Brent Walker, Church and State
Mark White, Supervised Ministry
Lynn Yarbrough, MIE Field Coordinator, China